3949 Wilmington Ave St Louis, MO 63116

Call us 314.481.1133


There are seven sacraments in the Church. The purpose of the sacraments is to make people holy, to build up the body of Christ, and finally, to give worship to God; but being signs, they also have a teaching function. They not only presuppose faith, but by words and object, they also nourish, strengthen, and express it; that is why they are called “sacraments of faith.” The sacraments impart grace, but, in addition, the very act of celebrating them disposes the faithful most effectively to receive this grace in a fruitful manner, to worship God rightly, and to practice charity.


Baptism – Baptism is the first and fundamental sacrament and the gate to the other sacraments, is the purifying and sanctifying sacrament of rebirth. It is the means by which its recipients are incorporated into the church in a sacramental bond of unity.

Baptisms are celebrated at any weekend liturgy or on the last Sunday of the month following the 10:30 AM Eucharist. Parents are asked to call the parish office to arrange a Baptism. Parents are asked to attend a preparation meeting that will be arranged when the parents meet with the priest or pastoral associate.


Eucharist – The Eucharist is the most august sacrament, in which Christ himself is contained, offered and received, and by which the Church constantly lives and grows. The Eucharistic sacrifice, the memorial of the death and resurrection of the Lord, in which the sacrifice of the cross is perpetuated over the centuries, is the summit and source of all Christian life and worship; it signifies and effects the unity of the people of God and achieves the building up of the Body of Christ.

As children reach the age of reason, generally around age seven, the Church extends to them an invitation to celebrate the sacrament of Eucharist. The initiation into the Christian community that took place at baptism is further extended by inviting children to enter fully into the heart of Christian faith through participation in the Eucharist.

The Eucharist is celebrated:

Sunday Morning (8 AM and 10:30 AM), Saturday Evening Vigil (4 PM)

Weekdays (8 AM Tuesday through Saturday)

Holy Days (8 AM and 7 PM)


Confirmation – By a signing with the gift of the Spirit, confirmation enriches the baptized with the Holy Spirit, binding them more perfectly to the Church, and strengthening them in their witness to Christ by word and deed and in their work to bring to its fullness the Body of Christ. Confirmation is conferred through anointing with chrism and the laying on of hands.


Adult Confirmation – Any adult who would like to learn more about our Catholic faith or who might be interested in becoming a member of the Catholic Church is asked to call the parish office. Interested individuals may start the initiation process at any time during the year. Please contact Mary Regan at 481-1133 or maryreganssp@gmail.com to register.


Reconciliation – Through reconciliation, the faithful receive pardon through God’s mercy for the sins they have committed. At the same time, they are reconciled with the Church community. The confession, or disclosure, of sins frees us and facilitates our reconciliation with others.The sacrament of Reconciliation is available on Saturdays from 3 – 3:30 PM, or by appointment scheduled with the pastor by calling the parish office.


 Matrimony – The Church has a rich tradition in its teaching on sacramental matrimony and covenantal union. The Old Testament authors write of God making a covenant with the chosen people and promising them that they will never be forsaken. The New Testament authors write of Jesus as the new covenant and compare the relationship of Jesus with the Church to the relationship of a husband and wife. The matrimonial covenant, by which a man and a woman establish between themselves a partnership for the whole of life, is by its nature ordered toward the good of the spouses and the procreation and education of offspring.

Please contact the parish office at least six months prior to the planned date of marriage.


Holy Orders – Holy Orders is the sacrament by which bishops, priests and deacons are ordained and receive the power and grace to perform their sacred duties. The sacred rite by which orders are conferred is called ordination. The apostles were ordained by Jesus at the Last Supper so that others could share in his priesthood.


– Information provided from ArchStl.org Sacramental Information


Comments are closed.

  3949 Wilmington Ave St Louis, MO 63116       314-481-1133